Comparison criteria for mushroom coffee pods.

Compare ingredients, caffeine
and brewer compatibility.

The guide evaluates roast, preparation, ingredient disclosure, caffeine, brewer compatibility and checkout terms.

  1. Start with the coffee. Choose a roast and preparation you enjoy.
  2. Read beyond mushroom names. Look for amounts and the full ingredient list.
  3. Know your tradeoffs. Check caffeine, brewer fit and the total checkout cost.

How to read this guide. Three selected US pod products. This is not a market ranking. Details checked September 14, 2026. The table uses manufacturer and retailer descriptions; our personal Peak tasting notes appear in the taste guide.

Three mushroom coffee pods, compared
What matters
Published details
Published product detailsPeak PerformanceMushroom Coffee · 18 pods2Published product detailsFour SigmaticFocus · 24 pods · regular caffeine11Published product detailsVitaCupMushroom Coffee · 16 pods12
Coffee & roastMedium roast2
Organic ground coffee; Guatemala12
Dark roast11
Organic Arabica; Honduras11
Medium dark roast12
Arabica coffee12
Mushrooms namedLion’s mane, reishi, cordyceps, turkey tail, chaga2Lion’s mane extract11Lion’s mane and chaga powders12
Mushroom amountsIndividual amounts not disclosed in reviewed listing2Individual amount not disclosed in reviewed page11500 mg lion’s mane + 250 mg chaga12
Added ingredientsNo creamer or sweetener in listed ingredients2Yacon powder; brand says no sweetener11B vitamins, D3; FAQ also names inulin1213
Caffeine stated105 mg per serving (listing value)2About 72–88 mg per pod (brand value)11About 110 mg per serving (brand value)12
Brewer fitK-Cup-style brewer; confirm your model2Most Keurig K-Cup brewers, including 2.011K-Cup brewers (retailer description)13
Taste descriptionPeak describes a smooth coffee1Brand describes dark-chocolate notes11Brand describes a full body and cinnamon notes12

Peak Performance — Mushroom Coffee · 18 pods2Four Sigmatic — Focus · 24 pods · regular caffeine11VitaCup — Mushroom Coffee · 16 pods12

Coffee & roast

Peak Performance
Medium roast2
Organic ground coffee; Guatemala12
Four Sigmatic
Dark roast11
Organic Arabica; Honduras11
VitaCup
Medium dark roast12
Arabica coffee12

Mushrooms named

Peak Performance
Lion’s mane, reishi, cordyceps, turkey tail, chaga2
Four Sigmatic
Lion’s mane extract11
VitaCup
Lion’s mane and chaga powders12

Mushroom amounts

Peak Performance
Individual amounts not disclosed in reviewed listing2
Four Sigmatic
Individual amount not disclosed in reviewed page11
VitaCup
500 mg lion’s mane + 250 mg chaga12

Added ingredients

Peak Performance
No creamer or sweetener in listed ingredients2
Four Sigmatic
Yacon powder; brand says no sweetener11
VitaCup
B vitamins, D3; FAQ also names inulin1213

Caffeine stated

Peak Performance
105 mg per serving (listing value)2
Four Sigmatic
About 72–88 mg per pod (brand value)11
VitaCup
About 110 mg per serving (brand value)12

Brewer fit

Peak Performance
K-Cup-style brewer; confirm your model2
Four Sigmatic
Most Keurig K-Cup brewers, including 2.011
VitaCup
K-Cup brewers (retailer description)13

Taste description

Peak Performance
Peak describes a smooth coffee1
Four Sigmatic
Brand describes dark-chocolate notes11
VitaCup
Brand describes a full body and cinnamon notes12

Read the amounts carefully. VitaCup’s amounts describe its formula, not a tested dose in the brewed cup. Caffeine figures use different manufacturer/listing bases without a common brew volume. An undisclosed amount is unknown, not zero.

Preparation, quality & buying details
More product details
What matters
Published details
Published product detailsPeak PerformanceMushroom Coffee · 18 pods2Published product detailsFour SigmaticFocus · 24 pods · regular caffeine11Published product detailsVitaCupMushroom Coffee · 16 pods12
PreparationInsert a pod, select cup size, brew2Brew a pod hot or over ice11Brew with a compatible K-Cup machine13
Quality documentationOrganic and third-party testing claims; no lot report verified1Organic; fruiting-body extract; toxin-testing claims11Fruiting-body powders; third-party testing claim12
One-time purchaseOne-time option shown on Amazon; recheck at checkout2Try Once option shown by brand11One-time option shown at Walmart; recheck current offer13
Recurring purchaseSubscribe & Save shown; eligibility and renewal price need checkout confirmation2Subscription offered; verify selected pack and renewal11Auto-delivery advertised; verify selected offer and renewal12
Price per podCurrent comparable price not displayed18Current comparable price not displayed18Current comparable price not displayed18

Peak Performance — Mushroom Coffee · 18 pods2Four Sigmatic — Focus · 24 pods · regular caffeine11VitaCup — Mushroom Coffee · 16 pods12

Preparation

Peak Performance
Insert a pod, select cup size, brew2
Four Sigmatic
Brew a pod hot or over ice11
VitaCup
Brew with a compatible K-Cup machine13

Quality documentation

Peak Performance
Organic and third-party testing claims; no lot report verified1
Four Sigmatic
Organic; fruiting-body extract; toxin-testing claims11
VitaCup
Fruiting-body powders; third-party testing claim12

One-time purchase

Peak Performance
One-time option shown on Amazon; recheck at checkout2
Four Sigmatic
Try Once option shown by brand11
VitaCup
One-time option shown at Walmart; recheck current offer13

Recurring purchase

Peak Performance
Subscribe & Save shown; eligibility and renewal price need checkout confirmation2
Four Sigmatic
Subscription offered; verify selected pack and renewal11
VitaCup
Auto-delivery advertised; verify selected offer and renewal12

Price per pod

Peak Performance
Current comparable price not displayed18
Four Sigmatic
Current comparable price not displayed18
VitaCup
Current comparable price not displayed18

Brand testing claims are not lot-specific certificates. No comparable prices are displayed: check the exact pack, one-time or recurring terms, shipping and tax before buying. Additional nutrients or fiber are not automatically better or worse.

Powder and cacao–chai mix-in formats

These are powder alternatives, not pods. A mug and mixing tool replace the pod brewer. The lower published caffeine amounts may suit a different preference; they are not a head-to-head measurement.

RYZE

Regular Mushroom Coffee · 30 servings · instant mix15

The drink
Instant coffee + mushroom mix14
Preparation
Measure and stir into hot water; no pod brewer needed16
Ingredients
Homepage lists acacia, inulin and tapioca fibers14
Caffeine
About 48 mg per cup (brand value)16
Ingredient & taste detail

Mushrooms: Six mushrooms: cordyceps, reishi, turkey tail, king trumpet, shiitake, lion’s mane14

Amounts: Per-mushroom amounts not verified14

Taste: Brand describes a nutty, creamy cup; mixing and milk change texture14

The brand’s older ingredient FAQ still discusses MCT; the current homepage lists a fiber blend. Confirm the formula on your bag.

MUD/WTR

Original cacao–chai · 30 servings · excludes new Coffee blend17

The drink
Cacao, chai spices and black tea; no coffee base17
Preparation
Measure and mix into liquid; no pod brewer needed17
Ingredients
Cacao, spices, black tea, salt; mushrooms/mycelium cultured on oats and/or sorghum17
Caffeine
35 mg per serving (brand value)17
Ingredient & taste detail

Mushrooms: Chaga, reishi, lion’s mane, cordyceps17

Amounts: 560 mg each; 2,240 mg total per serving (brand values)17

Taste: Brand describes cocoa and earthy chai17

Amounts refer to the powder serving, including cultured mycelium and fruiting bodies; they are not equivalent to an extracted dose in brewed pods.

Mixing, milk and liquid volume affect creaminess and visible particles.

How to read this comparison.

Products are selected for their pod format and current product pages, not ranked by sales or health outcomes. Manufacturer statements and retailer descriptions are identified. Missing facts remain unknown. Material differences—including individual mushroom amounts and lower published caffeine—are shown.

The current regular Four Sigmatic Focus page names lion’s mane and yacon; older descriptions of other formulas are not carried across. RYZE pages differ on added ingredients, so the source discrepancy is flagged. Confirm the label on the item you buy.

Quality badges do not replace lot-specific test results. These sources do not establish a taste winner or a superior health outcome for Peak. Ingredient research is different from finished-product evidence.

Compare the commitment as well as the cup.

Use the same purchase basis: one-time orders against one-time orders, or equivalent recurring offers. Divide the actual package price by its count; 18, 24 and 16-pod boxes are different purchases. Check eligible discounts, renewal prices, shipping and tax. We do not display numerical prices without a permitted, comparable source.

Pods need a compatible machine; mix-in products do not. If you would need to buy a brewer, include that in your decision. Calculate your actual offer.

Reviewed product

Peak Performance Mushroom Coffee, 18-count variant (ASIN B0CT64G865).

View product on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)